Saturday Breakfast: Biscuit Doughnuts

I don’t know about you but Saturday mornings are one of my favorites, especially when I am off work! I have never been much of a morning person, so I always loved the freedom to sleeeeep in on Saturdays. To me, there is just noting better than sleeping in and then starting my day off with a good breakfast. You will quickly learn that brunch is one of my FAVORTIE things in the world. You just cannot beat savory & sweet food, coffee, and mimosas. {drooooling}

OK, that brings me to this morning.  I woke up hungry, like always, and have been itching to try a recipe I’ve seen floating around the web for a while now to satisfy my sweet tooth.

Quick & Easy Biscuit Doughnuts

Cinnamon Sugar Biscuit Doughnuts
Cinnamon Sugar Biscuit Doughnuts

These doughnuts are quick, easy, and SO delicious.

All you need is:

1 can of refrigerator biscuits {I happened to have a can of flaky buttermilk biscuits in my fridge so I used those instead of the recommended homestyle biscuits}

Vegetable Oil for frying

Butter {Melted}

Cinnamon/Sugar Mixture or Powdered Sugar for the topping

Heat enough oil to cover the bottom of a large skillet {about half an inch} over medium to medium high heat.

Since I used flaky biscuits instead of homestyle, I flattened out all the biscuits on a cutting board with a rolling pin until they were about a quarter of an inch thick {don’t flatten them too much, you still want them to rise}

Once flattened, I used a small shot glass to punch out the center of the biscuit like this:

Test a small doughnut hole in the oil to make sure it is at temperature. {You want the oil to bubble around the edges of the dough} Continue frying doughnuts until one side is golden brown.

 

IMG_0384

Once they golden brown on both sides, place cooked doughnuts on a paper towel lined plate or baking sheet to cool. I cooked these a little longer than golden brown, because the doughnut hole I tested still had a soft doughy center. They turned out PERFECT. A little crispy on the outside & soft & delicious on the inside.

I melted a few tablespoons of butter and brushed onto one side of the cooked doughnuts & then placed them in the cinnamon sugar mixture to cover both sides.

EAT & ENJOY while warm!

Sweet, Savory, & DELICIOUS!
Sweet, Savory, & DELICIOUS!

These were SO good and took less than a half hour to prep, cook, and devour completely. I was too excited to eat all of these that I didn’t even think to try other toppings, besides cinnamon/sugar.  I LOVE powdered sugar and glazed doughnuts, {Who am I kidding, I just love doughnuts!} so the next time I make these, I’ll be making a variety.

It’s going to be a GORGEOUS day in Denver with temperatures in the high 50’s, so the hubby & I are off to hike in the mountains and work off all these bad boys!  I hope you all have a beautiful Saturday, friends.

Enjoy!


Biscuit Cinnamon/Sugar Doughnuts:

Prep Time: 5 Min Cook Time: 10-15 Min Serves: 3-4 per can

  • 1 can refridgerator biscuits (8-10 count)
  • Vegetable Oil for Frying (enough to cover bottom of frying pan about 1/2 in)
  • 2-4 Tbsp. Butter- melted
  • 1/2- 3/4 C. Sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in large skillet on Med-Med/High heat, about 5 min
  2. Cut out center of biscuit
  3. Mix cinnamon & sugar together in small bowl, set aside
  4. Melt Butter, Set aside
  5. Place dough in hot oil and cook until golden brown on one side
  6. Flip once, and cook until golden brown
  7. Transfer to paper towel lined plate or baking sheet
  8. Brush with melted butter
  9. Toss in Cinnamon/Sugar mixture
  10. Serve while warm and ENJOY!

Recipe Adapted from: Southern Plate

One thought on “Saturday Breakfast: Biscuit Doughnuts

Leave a Reply

